Beginner in amateur astronomy

Allmän diskussion om astronomi och amatörastronomi.
vsds
spamtest: JA

Beginner in amateur astronomy

Post by vsds »

Hello everyone !

I am Daya and I just joined this forum. I have studied my Masters in Sweden for two years now and will start working in Södertälje in a few months time. I have always been interested in astronomy; I have some experience in the past stargazing with a 15x70 binoculars, a 70 mm refractor and just naked eye observation. I have now decided to take my interest to the next level by buying my own telescope, for which I need your help to decide.

Originally I had decided to buy the Orion Starblast 4.5 on an EQ-1 mount. The reasons for this was that it is inexpensive (important for a freshly graduating student), has a fast focal ratio (f/3.9) for deep sky viewing (which is what I'm looking for) and it is very small and portable (I don't have a car) with excellent reviews online. Additionally it also allows me to familiarize myself with an equatorial mount as I see myself dipping my toes into astrophotography around 2-3 years down the line. But just as I was about to make the purchase, I came across this ad for a used Skywatcher 127 Maksutov Cassegrain (f/12, 1500 mm focal length) on an EQ3-2 Mount on Blocket. The incredible part is that it is on sale for the SAME price as a new Starblast 4.5. So now I'm in a dilemma. I want to do deep sky observation for the next few years before transitioning to more advanced stuff. But the promise of an extremely cheap used Mak I can already use for webcam astrophotography (video frame stacking) of planets is making me think twice. Not to mention the fact that I can perhaps use the EQ3-2 for larger OTAs in the future.

What do you guys think ?

Also, I would love to go on star parties and other fun stuff this Fall and Winter with other, more experienced amateur astronomers from around the Stockholm area. I hope I can find those folks over here :D

Regards,
Daya